Savvy Chic

tidbits, thoughts, and ramblings. . .with a Mormon twist

How to Tell Family and Friends That You’re Pregnant July 15, 2007

Filed under: baby,savvy thoughts — savvychic @ 10:43 pm

Well, you could write a family e-newsletter and direct everyone to a blog titled “How to Tell Family and Friends That You’re Pregnant.”  That would probably do the trick! (Yes, family and friends . . . this is an announcement!)

But for those of you who are coming to this article searching for other creative ways to tell the world your great news, I have a few ideas and a few websites with more ideas!

For my first child, I was just so excited that the home pregnancy test had two lines, I came out of the bathroom, showed my husband, and then we called our parents.  For the second baby, my son and I bought some blue and pink balloons and a king size Hershey’s candy bar.  We wrapped the candy bar with another paper, strategically placing holes over the candy bar’s name, making the candy bar read, “He or She. . .we will have wait and see!”  It didn’t take long for my husband to figure it out.  Soon we called our families to spread the news.  This time around, I included the pregnancy test in a baby countdown clock all wrapped up with a book on parenting as a Father’s Day gift!  Then we sent out a family newsletter with a link to this blog!

A friend of mine told her husband she was pregnant by preparing a treasure hunt with the clues inside of balloons.  Other fun ideas include creating personalized t-shirts for your youngest with the words, “I’m a big brother/sister!” Or you can wear a shirt with the words, “Baby on Board” or simply with the word, “Baby” and an arrow pointing to your belly.  These would work in a picture you send out to family, or if you were to wear the shirts to a family dinner.

Sending a picture from the ultrasound in a frame to family or friends, or just a baby frame with a note mentioning the picture will arrive on 2/18 (due date), is another fun way to spread the news.

My aunt figured out I was pregnant (with my first) when I told her I couldn’t use benadryl for a poison ivy rash.  I didn’t intend to drop the hint, but I have seen others give creative hints to clue in individuals. (Note: some OB/GYNs say that it is okay to use benadryl while pregnant.  You will want to check with your doctor before you use any over-the-counter medicines.)

On a less light-hearted note, but also very important, you may want to keep in mind the timing of your announcement.  Some people recommend waiting until you’re 10-12 weeks into the pregnancy before announcing it to the world as that is when the risk of miscarriage decreases significantly.  Other people recommend announcing early because if you do miscarry, you will have more support as you work through the loss of the pregnancy.  I tend to wait as I did miscarry my first, after announcing the pregnancy, and found it very difficult to tell people that I wasn’t pregnant anymore.

There are so many creative ways to share the news.  You can also get away with just proclaiming, “I’m pregnant!”  However, in case you need some more cute ideas, check out these websites:

http://www.parenthood.com/articles.html?article_id=10168

http://www.babytalkradio.com/transcripts/creative-ways-to-tell-family-and-friends.htm

http://www.babyfit.com/archive_posts.asp?imboard=139&imParent=2085526

http://pregnancyandbaby.com/pregnancy/baby/Creative-ways-to-say-Im-pregnant-526.htm

And soon you’ll be thinking about all the gadgets and gizmos you’ll need for the little one.  See my posts on other really useful baby tools: ring slings and moby wraps.  These are some of the most wonderful items I believe you can have!

Ezra T. Benson taught, “No more sacred word exists in secular or holy writ than that of mother. There is no more noble work than that of a good and God-fearing mother.” Best wishes on your pregnancy and journey through motherhood.

 

20 Responses to “How to Tell Family and Friends That You’re Pregnant”

  1. Aya Says:

    CONGRATS TAM!!!!! I am sooo happy for you! Very clever way of informing us too I must say. Thanks for the tips on sharing as well… this is such a great website.

  2. Amy Jo Says:

    Wayooooooooooo Tami and Sterling! We are so excited for you. I have to laugh, this is difinitely the most creative “techi savy” way of announcing pregnancy. If only Aby Adams or some women in her era could see you now!

  3. Amanda Says:

    Congratulations! I’m excited for you. How have you done this THREE times (I can’t even think about it again right now!)??

  4. Maggie Says:

    Congrats from Norman!!! How exciting….

  5. Linda Fluharty Says:

    Exciting News!
    Creative Clues!
    Another one to share the pews.
    Can hardly wait,
    For number 8!
    Still wondering about the date.
    Two Thousand Seven,
    Sent straight from Heaven?
    Or tell me dear,
    in the new year?
    Excited all must surely be
    to love this baby number 3.

    Love to your sweet family,
    Grandma Fluharty

  6. Malcolm Says:

    Thanks, great advice and resources. Another site with lots of suggestions in geocities.com/pregnancyannouncement Congrats too!

  7. Caren Says:

    Hmmmm…… I guess I’m getting my come-upance for not keeping up with your (or my) blog!! I had no idea. (When did this link get sent out??) And when are you due?? And here I’ve been using you as my excuse to not try for #3 yet……

  8. Wendy Says:

    Grandma –
    I see you’re confused, and I don’t blame you,
    but mommy doesn’t know how to tell you,
    So I’m writing this letter to let you know
    Mommy has about 6 months to go,
    before I arrive, and meet my ma,
    my aunts, uncles…grandma and grandpa.
    I can’t wait to meet you
    mom talks about you so great
    December 2nd is “my” due date.
    -Baby boy or girl to be (grandson or granddaughter)

  9. Lauren Says:

    Thank you so much for this blog! I have been searching for a few days now on creative ways to tell the fam about my pregnancy. This is the best one yet!!

  10. Kate Says:

    Thanks for the resources! I also love how subtle it was to have a President Benson quote…that’s always fun to find out others are LDS too. :)

  11. amuseinme Says:

    we made a video to share to the world our exciting news

  12. Anonymous Says:

    I love the poem! I plan on using that at the bottom of a gift bag. It gave me a great idea to put various grocery store items in the bag but the only one I can think of so far is Prego spagetti sauce… :) This way they will unwrap the groceries and then will find the peom at the bottom. :)
    Thank you for the great idea to spin off from!
    -Susan

  13. Anonymous Says:

    Last time we were pregnant we put an actual ‘BUN’ in our parents oven and made something up to get them to look inside. (For mom, said oo, have you checked out your oven? did something explode in there, it is a mess and stinks!) She looked inside for herself and just saw a little bun in the oven :)

  14. Anonymous Says:

    When I first found out I was pregnant the first person I called was my sister! After a few days when I had bloodwork results and 2 positive hpt back (I couldnt believe it was true) I decided it was time to tell my bf. I called him over to sit on the bed with me and just blurted it out. He said he knew bcuz I was acting weird & be cuz my boobs were bigger lol!

    To tell my mom I had planned to put a picture of our ultra sound in a frame but I was at the mall that day and just so happened to see a mug that said “Great mothers get promoted to Grandmothers” It was perfect! I bought it right then and there along with a pacifier. I took them home attached a note with a ribbon to the pacifier that said “youre being promoted again :)” (my brother has a son) I then put the pacifier inside the mug in white tissue paper and put them in a gift bag with blue and pink tissue paper.
    It was brilliant I must say! She was so surprised! We decided to go back and buy the same mug for bfs mother. :D

  15. Melo Says:

    Im 16 n think im preg ur views realy helped me a lot thank you keep up the good work

  16. You truly put together quite a few good items within your post, “How to Tell Family and Friends That Youre Pregnant Savvy
    Chic”. I will possibly be heading back to your page in the near future.
    Thanks ,Ermelinda

  17. I do not even know how I finished up here, but I thought this put up used to be good.
    I don’t know who you’re however definitely you’re going to a famous blogger when you are not already. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.