Savvy Chic

tidbits, thoughts, and ramblings. . .with a Mormon twist

Moby Wrap vs. Ring Slings, and other carriers July 24, 2008

Filed under: baby,savvy thoughts — savvychic @ 11:28 pm
Tags: , , ,

I have all sorts of baby wearing gadgetry–padded ring slings, unpadded ring slings, hot slings, mobys, rabozos, backpacks, etc.  I also have three kids, all of which I have worn (for about three years each) or currently wear!  So, I have had a lot of time to figure out what I like and what I think is most useful.  Your experience may be different, but unless you make your own gadgets (like I do), or know someone with all these things, it would be rather pricey to experiment with everything to find what works for you.  (On the other hand, what works for me may not work for you and in that case, good luck!)

Each of the carriers have their own benefits and drawbacks.  Here is my personal evaluation of the various carriers.

I like hot slings (a sling without rings) because they take up very little space when folded up. They can hold the baby in several positions so they are fairly versatile.  However, they have to be fitted just right (within a half inch) to be able to feel really comfortable.  That is annoying because I still have some baby fat after having a baby yet I still want to use my baby carrier 6 months from now when I have lost that baby fat! So, I will wait until I am at my normal size and then keep one of these in my car, or diaper bag, or both.)

Rabozos should be fabulous because you can use them as a sling, a back carrier, a nursing cover, or a table cloth, and they are infinitely adjustable as well as small when folded up in the diaper bag.  However, I didn’t like having to tie the knot nor untying the knot when I wanted to adjust things or change my baby’s position.

A backpack is great for wearing a heavy baby for a long time.  I like this for grocery shopping or walking to my friends’ homes.  It is bulky though and not something I keep in the van.

Then there is a moby wrap.  I love how the wrap distributes the weight of my baby over both shoulders and on my hips.  I love how he is so close to me and within perfect kissing distance.  I can wear my baby for a long time in the moby comfortably.  There are some drawbacks for the moby though.  First of all, 6 yards is a lot of fabric!  Even though it is easy to put on (see my tutorial), it still takes a few minutes to put it on and get my baby situated.  And then my biggest qualm is that breastfeeding isn’t very convenient.  So I only use my moby right after feeding my son and then when I know I will need to have him right next to me until the next feeding.  I imagine I will use my moby more after I wean my baby.

(Another con for the moby I have heard from other mothers is that they are hot–6 yards of a thick knit fabric can get toasty in the summer months!  I don’t have that issue since I made mine from a lightweight woven fabric.)

Ring slings, I have to admit, are my favorite carriers.  Adjustable, comfortable, convenient, compact, and so versatile, I really don’t leave home without one.  (Here is more info about ring slings.)  I usually use my padded sling, but I keep an unpadded sling in my van just in case I forget the other one.  The unpadded sling is great for keeping my baby really close to my body since it is easiest to adjust.  I can even wear him on my back with it.  However, I can’t wear him as long without the padding–about an hour is my max.  With the padded rails and shoulder pad in my primary sling, I can wear my baby for around three hours without any uncomfortableness.  I love being able to simply slip the sling on, put my baby in, and we’re off–usually in less than 10-15 seconds.  And I can adjust him equally fast–from the kangaroo carry to a snuggle carry to a hip carry.

My kids love(d) being in the sling as well.  My second would actually bring the sling to me and ask to be worn.  The sling truly is a bonding tool as well as a convenience!

There are other carriers–many that I have tried and some that I haven’t.  Those listed above are the ones I have liked the most.  What have you tried that you liked, and why?  Best wishes choosing what will hopefully work for you and your baby.

 

2 Responses to “Moby Wrap vs. Ring Slings, and other carriers”

  1. Caren Says:

    Great post, Tami!!

    Hmmm… I actually kind of like nursing in my Moby. It’s not my favorite but I can nurse hands-free which is really nice while trying to finish something. My baby only likes it when really hungry, though.

    I thought I’d add a couple you didn’t mention.
    Baby k’tan http://www.babyktan.com/index.html
    I actually like this one a lot more than I thought I would. It feels almost as comfortable as a wrap but is a lot easier to put on in a store/parking lot/outdoors as it does’t drag on the floor. It’s also lots faster. I miss the adjustibility of the wrap or sling with it but it works fairly well. The sizing is also a bit more forgiving that a hotsling (although it’s still sized) because the second loop gives extra support.

    Mei tai (google this one: lots of people make them)
    I didn’t think a mei tai looked very comfortable when I saw it but I loved it when I tried. Look for one with wide straps, though so it distributes the weight evenly or it’s not very comfy. I loved mine when I had a toddler but it’s not my favorite with a little baby….. I think it doesn’t hold a tiny infant close enough for them to feel truly comfortable. However, it’s wonderful for a back carry. Again, not quite as comfy as a wrap (I don’t think ANYTHING is as comfy as a wrap) but easier to put on an off. I’ve also comfortable carried a 3 yr old on the front in one.

    Anyway, just some of my experiences…. and I agree, can’t live without a ring sling!!

  2. Sharon Says:

    Okay, so I am behind in reading posts since my move, but I thought I would add my favorite carrier to the list despite the fact that you posted this in July. It is the ERGO baby carrier (www.ergobabycarrier.com). I bought one a few months ago, and I love it! I actually do not prefer ring slings, but I think it’s more because I am small and I find my shoulders ache after a short time wearing a ring sling. None of my babies have enjoyed being in a ring sling as small infants either. I guess we all have different builds, so different carriers work better for some people.

    Since I have had the ERGO I have used it more than any carrier I previously owned. It is on the expensive side, but worth every penny! It is very versital because you can use it on your front, back, and hip. I know that it is a very well liked carrier because almost all of the reviews I have read have been outstanding.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.