Savvy Chic

tidbits, thoughts, and ramblings. . .with a Mormon twist

laundry magic: stain tips June 5, 2007

Filed under: frugal,kids,laundry,thrifty tips — savvychic @ 11:27 am

By Maggie Schmidt 

*DISCLAIMER – THIS IS NOT REALLY MAGIC, IN FACT THERE IS A SLIGHT CHANCE THIS WON’T WORK FOR YOU, BUT HEY IT’S STAINED ANYWAYS SO WHY NOT TRY TO GET IT OUT!*

HOW TO HELP YOUR STAIN REMOVAL SUCCESS:

Laundry sorting – When you sort your clothes have a pile that is specifically for extra attention items so you won’t forget and just launder them without removing the stain. Also check all pants pockets before you put them in the pile to be washed! I find that if I wait until they are going into the washer I get in a hurry and forget and end up getting nice surprises on my clothes.

Laundry tools – detergent doesn’t matter that much. (In fact, it was brought up that good old expensive powdered Tide doesn’t dissolve all the way and can cause you major plumbing problems!)

A toothbrush, plastic knife, Downy Ball (which I use for more than just fabric softener), Shout Spray (because it’s the cheapest “quick fix” you can buy), liquid generic bleach, a very large box of baking soda, and a clean place to lay a stained piece of clothing.

This is seriously all I have in my laundry room besides my laundry detergent and machines.

All of these stain removal techniques that I will now list are for COTTON… or fabrics that are more than 65% cotton. If it is a synthetic fabric be very careful and try a little bit of the stain removal technique on a corner where it won’t be noticed if it has a very bad adverse affect.

Common stains – And the things you should do to get them out…..
Rust – pour lemon juice into the stain and then rub cream of tartar into it with a toothbrush….

Sweaty Armpits – diluted ammonia (usually a 2 part ammonia to 1 part water solution and a good hour or so soak should do the trick)

It was brought up as well that certain types of deodorant leave marks and others do not.

Degree was said to not leave any trace of stain on your clothing.

Grass stains – Turn clothing inside out and place an absorbent cloth (or paper towel) behind the stain to prevent any spreading of the stain. Spray the back of the grass stain with rubbing alcohol and scrub with a toothbrush. Let this sit for 10 minutes or so and then rinse with cold water. If the stain persists scrub the stain (from the front of the fabric) with paste toothpaste (NOT GEL… this will create a HUGE problem if you use a gel). Let it sit for 5 minutes and then rinse out.

Okie Red Dirt – Soak in “Oxie Clean”. It’s expensive but I have heard that it is the only thing that will remove the lovely traces of an outdoor adventure in the Oklahoma dirt.

Food stains – Most veggie and fruit stains can be removed by passing HOT (I usually boil some) through the stain, or by putting club soda on the stain. I then spray with my Shout and scrub it a little. The clothing is then soaked in the washing machine with a cup of baking soda and the regular amount of detergent and then laundered as usual.

Make-up – Rub with dawn between fingers…. Scrub with a toothbrush if necessary…. Soak for at least 30 minutes and then wash as usual.

Crayons – Again place a cloth between the front and the back of the clothing and then spray WD 40 onto the crayon marks. Let it sit for 5 minutes then scrape with a plastic knife. Repeat if necessary. After most of the crayon is removed rub Dawn dish detergent into the area with WD 40 on it to remove the grease. Launder as usual.

Ink Pens

Permanent – Spray alcohol or acetone nail polish remover into the stain and scrub. Rinse and repeat. If stain won’t budge scrub paste toothpaste into the stain and soak in milk for 1 hour. Rinse and launder as normal.

Gel – “Awesome” concentrated cleaner that can be bought at the Dollar Tree and Dollar General. I just spray some cleaner on the stain and scrub with a toothbrush. I then pour about half of a bottle of the cleaner into a small load cycle in my machine and let it soak for at least an hour. I then pull the clothing out scrub again with a toothbrush and more cleaner, and then let the cycle finish as normal. I then go back and put it into a normal wash with detergent and like colors.

Ballpoint – Spray affected area with hairspray. Launder as usual.

Blood – Scrub with peroxide or simply spit on it as soon as you notice and it will come out in the wash. Seriously.

Baby Clothes – soak in baking soda….. All of my sons clothing gets soaked overnight in warm water with detergent and a cup of baking soda. NONE of his clothing has been ruined by a stain. Every stain has come out, and I have never had to separate and spray any of his clothes. They get dumped into the soak and then laundered as usual and every stain has come out with zippo effort. He does not however drink formula which I have been told leaves a yucky yellow stain on things and I will address how to get out formula later on…..

Naturalistic products to use
Baking soda – Good for odors and food/natural stains….

White vinegar – odors and stains on suede, also a fabric softener (1/4 cup in rinse cycle which I just throw in my Downy Ball and no it won’t make your clothes stink)

Lemon juice – bleaching… VERY good for formula stains…

Club soda – stubborn stains that haven’t set too long… brings thing to the surface

Peroxide – blood…..

Sunlight – bleaching, lightening… probably the BEST natural bleach product there is… just lay things in the sun to dry.

Salt – removes some mold/mildew stains…. If anything is going to get mold out of your clothes it will be salt. Make a salt paste with some water and scrub into the stain. Let it air dry and then launder as usual.

The advantage of a natural approach to stain removal is that most of these items you already have on hand, but they do take more effort and elbow grease to get them to work. Plus you aren’t smelling all those harsh chemicals which lessen the life of your clothing too.

Not so naturalistic products to use
Bleach, stain sprays, detergents, Awesome spray, dawn dish soap, w-d 40, baby wash, Murphy’s oil soap, oxy-clean, rubbing alcohol, nail polish remover (acetone).

These products cost more money than the natural ones but they tend to take less work to remove a stain. They’re created to get down and dirty and well, they hold up to that promise for the most part. I personally start with a natural approach and if that fails I pull out the chemicals if it’s something I REALLY want to save.

But keep in mind; you must take into perspective how much the garment actually cost in the first place. If it’s a $2 clearance Wal-Mart shirt and you spend 5 hours and $1.50 worth of chemicals getting it into good shape again, you’ve actually come out in the negative.

Things to NOT do

An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of manure! Don’t put little Suzy and Bobby in their Sunday best to eat cherries and barbecue chicken. Don’t send Junior on the high adventure trip wearing his nice school pants! You’re just asking for work!

Never just throw something away, if it’s already stained you have to give it a fighting chance… (But once again weigh how much it cost initially versus what you are about to invest to get it clean)

Wash everything together. A lot of wear and tear on clothing (which can hurt stain removal efforts) comes from lazy laundry techniques. Wash things in like color and fabric families.

Don’t always wash in cold or warm…. HOT WATER IS A FRIEND….. now keep in mind that hot water can fade and shrink but for stain purposes if you have a stubborn stain that needs soaking, try some hot water and you’ll be amazed.

Do I really need to dry clean?

In the case of silk and wool YES. All else depends on what you’re willing to risk. Dry clean only clothes mean that you cannot DRY them in your dryer once their wet, but water and air-drying may work out for you.

Stuff to do with ruined clothes….

Quilts – I have a stack of old ruined jeans that I am saving to make a patchwork quilt from. My grandmother used to make t-shirt quilts all the time out of ruined t-shirts.

Cleaning rags – Save money by using a piece of an old shirt to dust instead of those Swiffer dusters. Or use one to wipe up your counter instead of a paper towel. Just keep a bucket of for dirty rags in your laundry room and then do a “Rag Load” when your rags get dirty.

Play clothes – If something is ruined and cannot be saved, turn it into the outdoor play clothes and make sure you use them when a messy, but fun, time is planned.

Dye Them – Growing up if we got purple Kool-aide on a pink shirt that would NOT come out my mom simply dyed the whole shirt purple and presto a new shirt!

On the go stain helpers for your purse.

Tide sticks – Costs a pretty penny but I have it on good authority that this will get out stains when you’re out and about.

Unscented Baby Wipes – If you’re out and spill something rub it with a baby wipe, which will help it not to set until you can get home and treat it more thoroughly. Even if you don’t carry around a diaper bag just put some in your glove compartment for those emergencies.

For more details and more information, consult: Field Guide to Stains: How to Identify and Remove Virtually Every Stain Know to Man by Virginia Friedman, Melissa Wagner, Nancy Armstrong

– The “Stain Bible” as I call it and when I haven’t ever encountered a stain myself, I consult this book. It has yet to fail me.

 

7 Responses to “laundry magic: stain tips”

  1. Victoria Says:

    Tami, Have you ever tried GALL SOAP? It is magic in bar for ANY stain. Biologically degradable, part of a fair trade project, non-toxic, and SUPER effective. Can be used as hand cleaner, dog shampoo etc as well. Has yet to disappoint me. I have traded ALL my other bottles and remedies for this one compact bar. Did so 4 years ago, and have never regretted it. The description on this link does not do it justice:

    http://www.sonett-online.de/1eng/spotre.htm

  2. […] If you are willing to do a bit more work to salvage your clothes, I liked the simplicity of the Savvy Chic’s laundry tips. […]

  3. helen Says:

    Hi, I was wondering whether you had any hints and tips for getting red wine out of a cream carpet, I have tried anything and everything from putting white wine over the top of the stain to using salt and bleach and nothing works.

  4. sara Says:

    I have a pair of curtains which have been dry cleaned on numerous occasions, they have mold on the back of them which has come off windows in the winter. I have been advised to put bleach on them to get it out, but I don’t want to ruin the curtains.

  5. julia Says:

    I have just come across this blog, it is fantastic, I was wondering if you could help me. I have got a cream sofa with lots of ground in dirt in the footstools and would love a solution which will get rid of the stains and bring them back to their former glory, do you have any advise.

  6. Etta Says:

    I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal
    blogroll.

  7. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to
    the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for rookie blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.


Leave a Reply

