Savvy Chic

tidbits, thoughts, and ramblings. . .with a Mormon twist

Independence Day!!! July 4, 2008

Filed under: savvy thoughts — savvychic @ 1:46 pm

I love Independence Day!  I love the pancake breakfasts, the primary parades, the picnics, the family time, and of course the fireworks.  But more than this, I love what the day means.  I love my independence–I can be who I am, say what I think, live where I please, worship my God, . . . I can make my own choices.  I love my independence.

Of course, with the independence, I also take on responsibility.  And when I make mistakes, it’s not always easy to shoulder that responsibility.  But I’m grateful for the opportunity to learn from my choices, whether they be good or bad.  I’m so grateful to be free!

I know that freedom came with a price.  I have a brother-in-law located somewhere in Afghanistan.  I have another friend somewhere in the skies on the other side of the world.  My father and grandfathers enlisted and did their duty to this great country.  And their families paid the price too.  I pray throughout the day everyday for my sister and my friends who eagerly await the return of their spouse, father, brother, and friends to return safely.  And for those who don’t return, my prayers and heart go out their families even more.

Thank you America!  Thank you to all those who make my independent life possible.  God Bless America!  Happy Birthday!

 

Leave a Reply

